New Secretary to Treasury

Former Central Bank Deputy Governor S. R. Attygalle has been appointed to the position of Secretary to the Treasury and the Ministry of Finance.He was appointed to the post at the Presidential Secretariat this morning (19).
He has previously held the same positions – Secretary of the Treasury and the Finance Ministry – back in 2008.Attygalle had also served as the Chairman of the National Savings Bank and represented the Treasury on the Boards of several key State-Owned Enterprises and Statutory Boards including the Bank of Ceylon, National Savings Bank, Sri Lanka Ports Authority and the Airport and Aviation Services (Sri Lanka) Limited, Securities and Exchange Commission of Sri Lanka and the Insurance Board of Sri Lanka.
TRC gets new Director General
Mr Oshada Senanayake has been appointed as the new Director General of the Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL).He will replace former Director General of the TRC, Mr P.R.S.P. Jayatilake.
 New Defence Secretary
Major General (Retired) Kamal Gunaratne has been appointed as the new Secretary to the Ministry of Defence.The new appointment has been made by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, who officially assumed duties at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo this morning.Delivering a speech after taking oath as President of Sri Lanka yesterday, Rajapaksa had stated that he will hold the portfolio of Minister of Defence in addition to being the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces.
Kamal Gunaratne is the former Commander Security Forces Headquarters - Wanni, General Officer Commanding (GOC) 53 Division, Colonel of the Regiment, Mechanized Infantry Regiment (MIR) and Master General Ordnance (MGO) of the Army Headquarters.He had also served as a Deputy Ambassador of Sri Lanka to Brazil.Following his retirement from the army in September 2016, Gunaratne authored a book ‘Road to Nandikadal’ on the war against the LTTE.

About Admin


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.